Yellow Book

Uniform Appraisal Standards for Federal Land Acquisitions

The Appraisal Foundation, in partnership with the US Department of Justice, is publisher of the Uniform Appraisal Standards for Federal Land Acquisitions, commonly known as the "Yellow Book."  The purpose of the Yellow Book is to promote fairness, uniformity, and efficiency in the appraisal of real property in federal land acquisitions.

Now in its sixth edition, the new version of the Yellow Book has been restructured to provide clarity and readability, resulting in practical guidance for appraisers, attorneys, and the public. The sixth edition of the Yellow Book contains four main sections: Appraisal Development, Appraisal Reporting, Appraisal Review, and Legal Foundations. Additionally, it includes the following features: 

  • Relevant new appraisal methodology and theory
  • New case law and other federal requirements
  • Consistency with professional appraisal standards

The electronic version of the book provides interactivity via a PDF that will enable you to easily move from section to section, contains "clickable" page numbers in the Table of Contents, Index, and Table of Authorities, and has a form-fillable "Appraisal Report Documentation Checklist" in the Appendix. To purchase a paper copy or electronic interactive PDF version of the Yellow Book, please visit The Appraisal Foundation store.